MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF OPTOMETRY
REINSTATEMENT FOR LICENSURE

[Pursuant to MCA § 73-19-21]

Request from Licensee in RETIRED status less than five (5) years.
Request from Licensee in RETIRED status more than five (5) years or INACTIVE status.

Request for Reinstatement under the Universal Recognition of Occupational Licensing Act
(UROLA) [Miss. Code Ann. §73-50-2 (2021)] from Licensee in RETIRED or INACTIVE
status in Mississippi and who wishes to return to Mississippi and meets the following
requirements:

holds a current and valid license in good standing in another state and has held this license in

the other state for at least one (1) year; and

the other state verifies that the applicant met their education requirements, work experience,

examination, and clinical supervision requirements;

has not committed any act in the other state that would constitute grounds for refusal Suspension
or revocation of a license to practice in Mississippi at the time the act was committed, and the

applicant does not have a disqualifying criminal record in Mississippi under Mississippi law; and

has not surrendered a license because of negligence or intentional misconduct related to your

work in the optometry occupation in the other state; and

does not have a complaint, allegation or investigation pending before the board in another state

that relates to unprofessional conduct or alleged crime; and

pays the $400 annual license fee (or $200 prorated license fee if requesting reinstatement July

through December); and

pays the $32.00 fingerprint-based background check fee (if inactive more than five (5) years);

and

provides proof of a state-issued identification card; or

a current Mississippi residential utility bill with the applicant's name and address; or

documentation of current ownership, or current least of a residence in Mississippi; or

documentation of current in-state employment or notarized letter of promise of employment
for his or her spouse; or

any verifiable documentation demonstrating Mississippi residence.

If applying under UROLA, a temporary practice permit may be issued for a period of 365 days until
which time the individual must sit for and pass the MSBO jurisprudence examination. The fingerprint-
based background check is required prior to issuance of a Temporary Practice Permit.

MCA § 73-50-2 (14). It is important to note that any license issued
under this section is valid only in Mississippi and does not make
the person eligible to work in another state under a reciprocity agreement.
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Licensure Fee year(s) retired/expired X $400.00 = $ (maximum $2,000.00)
+$15.00 late fee = §

Twenty (20) hours of CEs for each year (maximum of 100 hours) [proof of CEs must be attached]

Fee ($32.00) required for fingerprint-based background check — only after retired or expired for five (5) years
of more; and

MSBO Jurisprudence Examination ($200.00 Mississippi resident; $300 nonresident) — only after retired or
expired for five (5) years of more

UROLA Licensing Fee of $400.00 [NOTE: any license issued under this section is valid only in Mississippi and
does not make the person eligible to work in another state under a reciprocity agreement.]

$ Total Paid Money Order/Cashier’s Check #

ALL FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE

Last Name First Name Middle Initial
Mailing Address

City State Zip Code
Date of Birth Social Security Number

Office Telephone Cell Phone Other Telephone

Where will you be employed?

Name of Practice

Address

City State Zip Code

Do you hold an optometrist license in any other state? O Yes O No If yes, answer below:

State License Number Date Licensed Date of Loss of License Current License Status

State License Number Date Licensed Date of Loss of License Current License Status



1 Are you a citizen of the United States? Yes No
" Ifno, attach copy of passport including work permit.
2 Have you been convicted or found guilty of a crime in any state or jurisdiction, Yes No
" regardless of adjudication?
3 Is there any criminal charge now pending against you? Yes No
" (Do not include parking or speeding violations)
4.  Have you ever been a defendant in a court-martial? Yes No
5 Have you ever been declared legally incompetent? Yes No
Have you ever undergone treatment for the use of drugs,
6. narcotics or intoxicating liquors? Yes No
7 Have you ever received treatment for any emotional disturbances, mental disorder or insanity that Yes No
" could impair your ability to perform optometry or any other licensed profession?
Has a regulatory authority in any state or jurisdiction (including Mississippi) denied you a license or
8.  other credentials to practice optometry or to practice any other licensed profession? If yes, YOU Yes No
MUST provide a copy of the denial letter from the regulatory authority AND a letter of explanation.
9 Has a regulatory authority in any state or jurisdiction (including Mississippi) granted you a license or Yes No
" other credential to practice optometry or to practice any other licensed profession?
10. Have you ever held a license issued by the Mississippi State Board of Optometry? Yes No
1 If yes, what was your license number? When did your license expire?
19 | have practiced for compensation in Mississippi during the term that my Yes No
" license was expired or retired.
13 Why did you allow your license to expire?

Has a regulatory authority in any state or jurisdiction (including Mississippi) disciplined you related
14.  to the practice of optometry or to the practice of any other licensed profession? (Such disciplinary Yes No
outcomes include, but are not limited to, license restrictions, probation, fine or reprimand.)

Has a regulatory authority in any state or jurisdiction (including Mississippi) suspended, revoked,
15.  denied the renewal of, or required you to surrender your Optometry License or other credential, or Yes No
your license to practice any other profession?

Have you ever voluntarily surrendered a license or credential in connection with or to avoid

16. disciplinary action by a regulatory authority? Yes No
As an optometrist or other licensed professional, are you now or have you ever been a defendant in

17.  civil litigation in which the basis of complaint was for negligence, malpractice, or lack of professional Yes No
competence?

18 Is there currently pending against you in any jurisdiction a complaint against your professional Yes No

conduct or competence as an optometrist?

| confirm that | am in full compliance with Rule 8.1 in that | remain free of control and | shall not
divide, share, split or allocate, either directly or indirectly, any fee for optometric or therapeutic

19.  optometric services or materials with any layperson, firm or corporation, provided that this rule shall Yes No
not be interpreted to prevent any optometrist or therapeutic optometrist from paying any employee
in the regular course of employment.

| confirm that | clearly understand that it shall be construed as a violation of this Rule 8.1 for any
20. optometrist or therapeutic optometrist to lease space from an establishment, or to pay for franchise Yes No
fees or other services, on a percentage of gross receipts basis.

| confirm that my practice will be owned by a Mississippi-licensed optometrist or therapeutic
21. optometrist and that every phase of the practice and the leased premises shall be under the Yes No
exclusive control of a Mississippi licensed optometrist or therapeutic optometrist.

If you answered “no” to question 1 or “yes” to any of the remaining questions, please provide additional relevant information, dates, jurisdiction (state,
county), offense, disposition, circumstances, medical practitioners who treated you or who were consulted (names & addresses). It will be necessary
to direct each practitioner or facility who treated you to furnish the Board with any information the Board requests with respect to any such treatment.
Attach to this application.

If you answered “no” to any of the final three (3) questions (questions 19, 20 or 21), the Board has the right to request a copy of contracts, agreements,
or any other documents which detail your method of operation as well as a copy of floor plans, lease agreements , advertisements or any other
documents required to validate compliance under the Mississippi Code Annotated §73-19-1 through § 73-19-195.




AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICATION

l, , solemnly swear under oath and affirm
that if this application is accepted and | am granted a license to practice as an optometrist
in the State of Mississippi, | will obey the laws of this state and the rules and regulations
of the Mississippi State Board of Optometry (Board), and | will maintain the honor and
dignity of the profession. | also understand that Board-approved CE hours for each year
that | have not been in active status is required.

It is understood and agreed that if | should fail to keep the above agreement or if | have
made any false statements in this application, that:

(a) My license may be suspended or revoked by the Board at any time.

(b) | have read and understand the law and rules and regulations pertaining to
optometry in the State of Mississippi.

(c) | further understand that it is my responsibility to keep my license current and
stay informed of any changes in the law, rules and regulations, and/or policies
relative to the profession of optometry in this state.

| further affirm that all statements in this application are true and correct.

Applicant’s Signature Date

Applicant’s Printed Name Mississippi License Number



	holds a current and valid license in good standing in another state and has held this license in: Off
	the other state verifies that the applicant met their education requirements work experience: Off
	has not committed any act in the other state that would constitute grounds for refusal Suspension: Off
	has not surrendered a license because of negligence or intentional misconduct related to your: Off
	does not have a complaint allegation or investigation pending before the board in another state: Off
	pays the 400 annual license fee or 200 prorated license fee if requesting reinstatement July: Off
	pays the 3200 fingerprintbased background check fee if inactive more than five 5 years: Off
	provides proof of a stateissued identification card or: Off
	a current Mississippi residential utility bill with the applicants name and address or: Off
	documentation of current ownership or current least of a residence in Mississippi or: Off
	documentation of current instate employment or notarized letter of promise of employment: Off
	any verifiable documentation demonstrating Mississippi residence: Off
	1500 late fee: 
	years retiredexpired X 40000: 
	Licensure Fee: Off
	Twenty 20 hours of CEs for each year maximum of 100 hours proof of CEs must be attached: Off
	Fee 3200 required for fingerprintbased background check  only after retired or expired for five 5 years: Off
	MSBO Jurisprudence Examination 20000 Mississippi resident 300 nonresident  only after retired or: Off
	UROLA Licensing Fee of 40000 NOTE any license issued under this section is valid only in Mississippi and: Off
	undefined: 
	Total Paid: 
	ALL FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE: 
	Last Name: 
	First Name: 
	Middle Initial: 
	Mailing Address: 
	City: 
	State: 
	Zip Code: 
	Date of Birth: 
	Social Security Number: 
	Office Telephone: 
	Cell Phone: 
	Other Telephone: 
	Name of Practice: 
	Address: 
	City_2: 
	State_2: 
	Zip Code_2: 
	Do you hold an optometrist license in any other state: Off
	State_3: 
	License Number: 
	Date Licensed: 
	Date of Loss of License: 
	Current License Status: 
	State_4: 
	License Number_2: 
	Date Licensed_2: 
	Date of Loss of License_2: 
	Current License Status_2: 
	undefined_2: Off
	undefined_3: Off
	undefined_4: Off
	undefined_5: Off
	undefined_6: Off
	undefined_7: Off
	Yes_5: Off
	No_5: Off
	Yes_6: Off
	No_6: Off
	Yes_7: Off
	No_7: Off
	undefined_8: Off
	undefined_9: Off
	Yes_9: Off
	No_9: Off
	undefined_10: Off
	undefined_11: Off
	Yes_11: Off
	No_11: Off
	11 If yes what was your cense number: 
	undefined_12: Off
	undefined_13: Off
	13 Why did you al ow your cense to expire: 
	Yes_13: Off
	No_13: Off
	Yes_14: Off
	No_14: Off
	undefined_14: Off
	undefined_15: Off
	Yes_16: Off
	No_16: Off
	undefined_16: Off
	undefined_17: Off
	Yes_18: Off
	No_18: Off
	Yes_19: Off
	No_19: Off
	Yes_20: Off
	No_20: Off
	that if this application is accepted and I am granted a license to practice as an optometrist: 
	Date: 
	Applicants Printed Name: 
	Mississippi License Number: 
	Signature1_es_:signer:signature: 
	Check Box2: Off
	Check Box3: Off
	Check Box4: Off
	Check Box5: Off
	Check Box6: Off
	Text7: 
	Check Box8: Off
	Check Box9: Off
	Check Box10: Off
	Check Box11: Off
	Check Box12: Off
	Check Box13: Off
	Check Box14: Off
	Check Box15: Off
	Check Box16: Off
	Check Box17: Off
	Check Box18: Off
	Check Box19: Off
	Check Box20: Off
	Check Box21: Off
	Check Box22: Off
	Check Box23: Off
	Check Box24: Off
	Check Box25: Off
	Check Box26: Off
	Check Box27: Off
	Check Box28: Off
	Check Box29: Off
	Check Box30: Off
	Check Box31: Off
	Check Box32: Off
	Check Box33: Off
	Check Box34: Off
	Check Box35: Off
	Check Box36: Off
	Check Box37: Off
	Check Box38: Off
	Check Box39: Off
	Check Box40: Off
	Check Box41: Off
	Check Box42: Off
	Check Box43: Off
	Check Box44: Off
	Check Box45: Off
	Check Box1: Off
	Check Box7: Off
	Check Box46: Off
	Check Box47: Off
	Check Box48: Off
	Check Box49: Off
	Check Box50: Off
	Check Box51: Off
	Check Box52: Off
	Check Box53: Off
	Check Box54: Off
	Check Box55: Off
	Check Box56: Off
	Check Box57: Off
	Check Box58: Off


