

MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF OPTOMETRY

APPLICATION FOR EXAMINATION AND LICENSURE TO PRACTICE OPTOMETRY IN THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI

METHODS OF ENTRY INTO MISSISSIPPI
Initial Application – New Graduate
(Jurisprudence Examination Required; PEP Certification
Examination Optional)
Military Family Freedom Act (MFFA)
(Jurisprudence Examination Required)
Universal Recognition of Occupational Licensing Act (UROLA)
(Jurisprudence Examination Required Within 365 Days)
Reciprocity
(Jurisprudence Examination Required)
Primary Eyecare Procedures (PEP) Certification
(Currently Licensed in Mississippi – PEP Examination Required)

<u>EXAMINATIONS</u>	<u>FEE</u>			
CHECK ALL THAT APPLY				
Jurisprudence Examination	□ \$200.00 (in-state resident) □ \$300.00 (out of state resident)			
Primary Eyecare Procedures (PEP) Certification – New Graduate (Jurisprudence Examination Required)	□ \$750.00			
Primary Eyecare Procedures (PEP) Certification – Currently Licensed in Mississippi	□ \$750.00			

Return completed application to: Mississippi State Board of Optometry 5 Old River Place, Suite 105 Jackson, Mississippi 39202-3449



MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF OPTOMETRY

APPLICATION FOR EXAMINATION AND LICENSURE TO PRACTICE OPTOMETRY IN THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI

Last Name	
First Name	
Middle Name	
Permanent Mailing Address (Street/P.O. Box, City, State, Zip Code)	
Phone Number	
Email Address	
Date of Birth	
Place of Birth	
Social Security Number	
Gender	
Marital Status	
Spouse's Name	
Have you ever legally changed your name?	☐ Yes ☐ No
Name of High School to include City, State, Graduation Date	
College/University Attended (Give Dates, Degrees, City, State)	
Optometry College Attended (Give Dates, Degrees, City, State)	
Are you currently licensed to practice in another state(s)?	☐ Yes ☐ No If yes, which state(s):
List all states and dates of practice where you have practiced since graduation	
Give current status in states where you have previously practiced	

Are you DPA certified in	you DPA certified in					
another state(s)?	If yes, which state(s)?					
Are you TPA certified in	☐ Yes ☐ No					
another state(s)?	If yes, which state(s)?					
Have you ever served in the	☐ Yes ☐ No					
United States military? If yes, which branch?						
	Name					
	Will you remain free of control from			J Yes		
Name of Intended Practice	any layperson, firm or corporation?			□ No		
	Is this practice owned by a Mississippi			J Yes J No		
	licensed optometrist or therapeutic optometrist? Tax ID Number					
Intended Office Address	Tax ID Number					
(Street/P.O. Box, City, State, Zip Code)						
	Name					
	Will you remain free of control from			J Yes		
Name of Intended Secondary Office	any layperson, firm or corporation?			J No		
		Is this practice owned by a Mississippi				
	licensed optometrist or therapeutic optometrist	metr	ist?	J No		
A 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0	Tax ID Number					
Address of Secondary Office						
(Street/P.O. Box, City, State, Zip Code) Name under which any ophthalmic						
dispensary owned or operated by you						
will do business						
AFFIDAVIT QUESTIONS						
1. Are you a citizen of the United States?	Are you a citizen of the United States?		Yes	☐ No		
If no, attach copy of passport including work permit.						
2. regardless of adjudication?			Yes	☐ No		
Is there any criminal charge now pending against you? (Do not include parking or speeding violations)			Yes	□ No		
4. Have you ever been a defendant in a court-	Have you ever been a defendant in a court-martial?			□ No		
5. Have you ever been declared legally incom	Have you ever been declared legally incompetent?		Yes	□ No		
Have you ever undergone treatment for the use of drugs, narcotics or intoxicating liquors?			Yes	□ No		
	Have you ever received treatment for any emotional disturbances, mental disorder or insanity that could impair your ability to perform optometry or any other licensed profession?			□ No		
Has a regulatory authority in any state or jurisdiction (including Mississippi) denied you a license or other credentials to practice optometry or to practice any other licensed profession? If yes, YOU MUST provide a copy of the denial letter from the regulatory authority AND a letter of explanation.			Yes	□ No		
Has a regulatory authority in any state or jurisdiction (including Mississippi) granted you a license or other credential to practice optometry or to practice any other licensed profession?			Yes	□ No		
10. Have you ever held a license issued by the Mississippi State Board of Optometry?			Yes	□ No		

11.	If yes, what was your license number?	When did your license expire?				
12.	I have practiced for compensation in Mississippi during the term that my license was expired or retired.			Yes		No
13.	Why did you allow your license to expire?					
14.	Has a regulatory authority in any state or jurisdiction (including Mississippi) disciplined you related to the practice of optometry or to the practice of any other licensed profession? (Such disciplinary outcomes include, but are not limited to, license restrictions, probation, fine or reprimand.)			Yes		No
15.	Has a regulatory authority in any state or jurisdiction (including Mississippi) suspended, revoked, denied the renewal of, or required you to surrender your Optometry License or other credential, or your license to practice any other profession?			Yes		No
16.	Have you ever voluntarily surrendered a license or credential in connection with or to avoid			Yes		No
17.	As an optometrist or other licensed professional, are you now or have you ever been a defendant in civil litigation in which the basis of complaint was for negligence, malpractice, or lack of professional competence?					No
18.	Is there currently pending against you in any jurison professional conduct or competence as an optom	etrist?		Yes		No
19.	I confirm that I am in full compliance with Rule 8.1 in that I remain free of control and I shall not divide, share, split or allocate, either directly or indirectly, any fee for optometric or therapeutic optometric services or materials with any layperson, firm or corporation, provided that this rule shall not be interpreted to prevent any optometrist or therapeutic optometrist from paying any employee in the regular course of employment.					
20.	I confirm that I clearly understand that it shall be construed as a violation of this Rule 8.1 for					No
21.	I confirm that my practice will be owned by a Mississippi-licensed optometrist or therapeutic					
If you answered "no" to question 1 or "yes" to any of the remaining questions, please provide additional relevant information, dates, jurisdiction (state, county), offense, disposition, circumstances, medical practitioners who treated you or who were consulted (names & addresses). It will be necessary to direct each practitioner or facility who treated you to furnish the Board with any information the Board requests with respect to any such treatment. Attach to this application.						
If you answered "no" to any of the final three (3) questions (questions 19, 20 or 21), the Board has the right to request a copy of contracts, agreements, or any other documents which detail your method of operation as well as a copy of floor plans, lease agreements, advertisements or any other documents required to validate compliance under the Mississippi Code Annotated §73-19-1 through §73-19-195.						
EXAMINATION FEE (FEE IS NONREFUNDABLE) In-state resident examination application fee - \$200.00; out-of state resident fee - \$300.00 FEE IS REQUIRED PRIOR TO TAKING THE JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION AND MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH YOUR APPLICATION						
PHOTOGRAPH MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH YOUR APPLICATION						
NOTE INITIAL LICENSE FEE of \$400.00 if taking the examination in January or \$200.00 if taking the examination in July is required after passing the jurisprudence examination and prior to issuance of a license to practice.(FEE IS NONREFUNDABLE)						
I agree to practice optometry in accordance with the provisions of the state laws and Board rules and regulations of Mississippi if granted a license by this state; and I solemnly swear or affirm that the foregoing answers are true and correct under the penalty of perjury, license refusal or disciplinary action.						
Sign	ature	 Date				